Blue Cross Community MMAI and ICP Provider Training

Posted January 28, 2014 (Updated October 1, 2014*)

*Note: The information under '"BCBSIL Training Modules" in the article below has been updated to include Blue Cross Community Family Health PlanSM (FHP).

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and the State of Illinois have contracted with Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Illinois (BCBSIL), as well as five other Managed Care Organizations, to implement a 3-year demonstration plan developed to better serve individuals eligible for both Medicare and Medicaid. The plan will combine Medicare and Medicaid funding under a blended payment agreement to provide integrated, comprehensive care to benefit dual-eligible members. BCBSIL offers the Blue Cross Community MMAI (Medicare-Medicaid Plan)SM  to enrollees in 6 counties: Lake, DuPage, Kane, Cook, Will and Kankakee.

The Illinois 2011 Medicaid Reform Law requires the Medicaid plan to enroll at least 50 percent of Medicaid members into coordinated care/managed care by Jan. 1, 2015. The ICP (Integrated Care Plan) is for seniors and adults, 19+ years of age, with disabilities and who have Medicaid only (no Medicare). BCBSIL offers the Blue Cross Community ICPSM to enrollees in Cook County.

It is a CMS and State of Illinois requirement for BCBSIL to make available training on specified topics for MMAI and ICP contracted providers. MMAI and ICP training is mandatory for the following provider types:

  • Hospitals
  • Skilled Nursing Facilities (SNFs)
  • Long Term Services and Supports (LTSS)
  • Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs)
  • Independent Practice Associations (IPAs)
  • Independent Physicians
  • Community Mental Health Centers (CMHCs)
  • Ambulatory Surgery Centers
  • Supportive Living Facilities (SLFs)
  • SNFist  {Nursing Home-Physician Specialists}
  • Durable Medical Equipment (DME)
  • Coordinated Home Care (CHC)
  • Hospice
  • Free Standing Dialysis Centers

BCBSIL Training Modules

Several online tutorials are available for the MMAI and ICP contracted providers listed above. Effective Oct. 1, 2014, FHP was added to the training modules as well. You may complete all of the modules during one time period (approximately 2½ hours), or you may break up the sessions to complete the individual sessions at your convenience. Each tutorial has an audio voiceover. Please note that you must listen to the entire presentation to receive credit for completing each module. If needed, you may pause or stop the training at any time – when you return to the module, the training will resume where you left off.

Select from the list below to access each required training module. (The introductory module is recommended, but not required.) Note: Before completing your first module, you will need to sign in by adding requested information to the Guestbook – check the “Remember Me” box at the bottom of the screen to save your data and skip this step in future modules.

  1. Person Centered Practice, Care Coordination and the Interdisciplinary Care Team 
  2. Fraud, Waste and Abuse 
  3. Health, Safety and Welfare
  4. Cultural Competency 
  5. Disability Literacy 
  6. Independent Living and Recovery 
  7. Mental Health Crisis Intervention 

In addition to training on the required topics, you may also complete a MMAI, ICP and FHP Overview  module.